Feliz Navidad

gal-latino-honduras-jpg

What do gingerbread men and adoption have in common?

Molasses.

That’s exactly what I feel we have been trudging in at times throughout this journey.  We started the adoption process about five and a half years ago.  When we officially received the referral for Luis, we were told the adoption would be expedited.  That was over a year ago.  Originally we were told there would be two to four months between our two trips.  It ended up being eight months.  This second trip was predicted to be approximately two to six weeks.  It’s now been ten weeks.  I think in many cases predicted timelines are just that- predicted.

Yeah, I can easily fall into the temptation of “why us?”, but I share this with you because we are clearly up against something bigger than red tape.  I have always thought adoption helps reveal the spiritual warfare going on behind the scenes.

“For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the powers, against the world forces of this darkness, against the spiritual forces of wickedness in the heavenly places.”

Ephesians 6:12

The last ten weeks have only reinforced this belief.  God cares deeply for the orphan (literal and spiritual), so why wouldn’t Satan pull out all his tricks?  Besides exploiting the fatherless, the Enemy’s tactics can be used against the church.  I honestly don’t know if anything has broken me down like this process.  Also, when we talk about adoption and orphan care (especially international) it’s easy to retreat when we consider how hard and hopeless it appears.  Satan wins when God’s children give up.

In reality, it is hopeless if we are depending on our own strength or that of others.  If I put my faith in the system, I will likely walk away disappointed and resentful (and there have been those moments).  My best advice for anyone going through adoption is to make sure you are clinging to Jesus- even when things are going according to plan.

I hope and pray we are home for our first family Christmas, but I also pray I know God’s goodness even if we hit another roadblock.  I pray my eyes would be focused on God’s ultimate gift this Christmas and not distracted by what’s missing from my “perfect” Christmas day. I pray Sloan and I will help Luis know how love came down for all of us over two thousand years ago.

homealone

Starting some Christmas traditions- baleadas and Home Alone

 

Update: Luis had his medical exam yesterday for his visa (healthy report and five immunization shots). Now we are waiting for the second (and hopefully) final embassy visit.

With His love,

Mandy

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

